School Nurses

Birchwood
Kelly Nesbitt, M .Ed, R.N., CSNT
kelly.nesbitt@npsd.k12.ri.us
401-232-1150
Centredale
Gionna Votto R.N
gionna.votto@npsd.k12.ri.us
401-233-1145

Greystone
Sheri Farrell R.N
sheri.farrell@npsd.k12.ri.us
401-133-1130

High School
Eleanor Bonner RN
eleanor.bonner@npsd.k12.ri.us
401-232-1150
McGuire
Karen Zelano R.N CSNT
karen.zelano@npsd.k12.ri.us
401-233-1135
Ricci
Amanda Batastini R.N

amanda.batastini@npsd.ri.us
401-233-1170 

Stephen Olney
Michelle Poirier R.N
michelle.poirier@npsd.k12.ri.us
401-233-1160

Whelan
Hannah Erickson R.N
hannah.erickson@npsd.k12.ri.us
401-233-1180

IMPORTANT NURSING INFO

Physicals

All students need to provide the nurse with a copy of their most recent physical examination and immunizations. Even though you go to the doctor every year most doctors don’t give you a copy of the shots and check-up unless you request it. This information is required by the Department of Health to be in your child’s health record. Students who want to participate in any type of sport at Birchwood are required to have a Health Record. Most students coming from the elementary school only have their kindergarten physicals on file from initial registration. Please send a fax or bring in your child’s physical for the start of school in September.

Dental Cards

Documentation from the dentist is also required for your child’s health record.

Medication

If for any reason your child will need to take any type of medication the doctor needs to fill out a medication authorization form. This is required for all medication, even Tylenol.

Epi-Pens & Inhalers

If your child has an allergy that requires and EPI-PEN, we must have an EPI-PEN at school. Children with asthma who need inhalers need to have them in school with the doctors written orders.

Peanut Allergies

We have students in the school who have severe peanut allergies. We have a peanut free table as well as a NUT table in the cafeteria. We would like to suggest not packing anything that contains nuts in your child’s lunch. If they do have anything with NUTS in their lunch they need to sit at the NUT table and make sure they wash their hands after they eat. This is very important and needs to be followed to insure the safety of our children.

To Parents of Student Athletes

Dear Parent of a North Providence Student Athlete:
Enclosed below is a Report of Physical Examination form providing medical clearance by your child’s doctor for your child participates in any of the North Providence School Department’s athletic programs. In keeping with nationally recommended medical standards designed to insure a child’s health and safety, the school department strongly recommends that every child annually visit his/her own doctor for a general medical history review, a medical examination and any and all prescribed screening tests and immunizations.
STUDENT NURSE INFO FORM